Summer arrived and I took a hiatus from trying new recipes. Well, that’s not exactly true. My new recipes have involved a first birthday ladybug cake, giant cupcake smash cakes, lots of frosting and other yummy treats. Although they were delicious, they were one-time treats that I’m happy not to make again. I was in a little over my head. I figured out I’m a good baker, but not a good cake maker! Oh well.

With all of the Fourth of July festivities in the past week, I decided to start trying some new recipes again. My neighbor made this one for a party we attended and I immediately found the recipe to make it. I have four or five corn salad recipes pinned, and I’ve tried a few of them. There’s always something I don’t like about them. This one, however, has all the right ingredients to make it the perfect side at any picnic. The only problem I have is that it’s a salad you have to mix together right before serving. That can be a pain when bringing it somewhere, but I think it’s worth it!

DSC_0182

Salad:

  • 2 pints grape tomatoes
  • 4 ripe avocados
  • 8 ears of fresh sweet corn
  • 8 tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped

Remove husks from corn and grill over medium heat for 10 minutes. The corn should have some brown spots and be tender, but not mushy. Cut the corn off the cob. Spread on a sheet pan to cool. Slice the tomatoes in half. Dice the avocado and chop the cilantro.

Honey Lime Dressing:

  • Juice of 4 limes
  • 12 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 3-4 tbsp honey *
  • Sea salt and fresh cracked pepper, to taste
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • Cayenne pepper to taste (optional)

Add all ingredients in a small bowl and whisk together. Set aside.

Combine the tomatoes, avocado, cilantro, grilled corn and honey lime dressing and mix gently so everything is evenly coated. Let the salad stand for 15 minutes before serving to allow the flavors set.

*After making this recipe again, I would start with 3 tablespoons of honey and only add more if needed. It’s pretty sweet when you use the full 4 T.

Source: For the Love of Cooking

